~ Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s Off to the Polls YOU Go ~   7 comments

 

Off To The Polls

Some say that because I do not vote, I’ve no right to complain after the polls close. I’m here ta tell ya that I do indeed have the right to complain, ‘n here I’m tellin ya why!!!

Where’s the little box on the ballots ta check off if’n ya wants ta vote for None of the Above?? Was there ever a time that “None of the Above” was on the ballots??? Was “None ‘a the Above” gaining a little too much popularity???? Are we not all entitled to our own opinions, and with the right to express them???

Then pray do tell!!! When I go to the voting polls, where the dilio is the little box for me to check off to let the goobernment of this country know that there’s not one of ‘em I’d trust without shame, and of clear conscience ta run my household, never mind my constituency, my province, my country or state?? Nor, for that matter, to have anything to do with representing my interests in the field of international politics.

As well, I would be interested ta know what percentage of the voters would vote “None of the Above”. So should, I would like to think, every voter have an interest in knowing. And Hell!! Wouldn’t we have the right to know?? We know how many votes each candidate acquired. We know what percentage of votes each party obtains. Where is there a column in these stats what reflects the feelings, ‘n opinions of folk such as myself who believe not one of these candidates to be worthy ‘a takin on the posts they’s runnin for.

Politician:  (n) (synonyms)

representative, political figure, candidate, official, legislator, office-bearer, statesman, stateswoman

There Ya go!! Straight out ‘a the thesaurus!! Funniest danged thang though, the only time I hear these terms bein used is on the news, ‘n mostly during electoral process. What do I generally hear in conversation amongst the blue collar community?? It’s no small wonder they don’t add ‘em to the thesaurus, as there just ain’t a big enough book ta cover ‘em all!! Starting I spose in the “A’s” with azzwipe, ‘n endin in the “Z’s” with zombie. Including a few choice ones such as thieves, rat bastards, communists, backstabbers, koch knockers, and a large angry mouthful of others. Often with multiples ‘a these strung together to form a complete sentence, sort of. i.e.: Koch knockin muther phuckin thieving communistic backstabbing lying rat bastards!!!! This no doubt, would be someone who really wants ta make they’s point known. Does this person have the opportunity as well as the right to make they’s point known on voting day?? NO!!! Apparently, there’s no little box fer someone ta let they’s opinion be known if’n they’s honest informed opinion is, None of the Above!!!”

 

None of the Above” is my party, and I’ll complain if’n I wants to!!

               

                     Ciao Fer Now     

 

Update: On advice of Niece Kelly’s comments made Sept 24, 2011, I am now a participating member of the voting public. Although it disgusts me that there is not a check box for none of the above, and that the number of voters liken to myself are not made public, an unmarked ballot does so seem the next best thang.   Smile

I do so hope and wish to see the day of a ‘Global Governing Body’ party with name on every ballot around the globe, and with position I could take pride in supporting. A single Political Party with Courage, Compassion,  Conviction and Commitment to one single simple mandate …

”The Good of ALL Mankind, and OUR Environment”

7 responses to “~ Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s Off to the Polls YOU Go ~

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Says Rusty in E-mail:
    Archie, I love it and agree whole heartedly! I think they should have a box marked: None of the above.

  2. Says Sam in E-mail:
    You should create a Party called, ” None of the Above” I would definately vote for you and even help you design your posters and mud slinging campaign

    • Nah … I’d have to give it some other name (Global Governing Body), and still see “None ‘a the Above” on the menu for each region.
      Oh, and mud slingin shouldn’t be allowed. I don’t need these mooks tellin me what they’s competition is, or is not doing. I need them to tell me what They are doing.

  3. Says Kelly in E-mail:
    They don’t have it on the ballot per say, but you can cast an empty ballot that registers as someone willing to go vote but who hated all of the platforms. It’s not a bad idea because if people actually started doing it, their riding would get a bit more attention. It sends a message that you’ll get off your ass to vote if they get off their asses to listen to the people.
    I’m not going to say anyone has to do that.. but it’s an alternative to the “None ‘a the Above” you’re looking for.

    • A bit more attention from who?? Or would that be ‘from whom’ … ah well, whatever.
      In the end, I don’t think it would make a bit ‘a difference on account so many idots voting for the lesser of evils, or wasting they’s vote by voting for the most underest of underdogs. The green party actually got a seat?? Whoa up now!!!
      I sit here wondering what would come of it if the number of empty ballots actually did outnumber the ballots of the winning party. After all, a bit of attention could be nothing more than some cracker head perusing a sheet with these numbers on it, raising an eyebrow, shuffling the sheet off to the “Done” bin.
      I’ll bare it in mind and mayhap do a little research. The jury is still out on this one!!

      • Says Kelly in E-mail:
        It won’t do much if only a couple people do it, that’s for sure. All I’m saying is that it counts as a “none of the above” vote. If, as you say, the majority of a town did that, parties would take notice.

Leave a Reply

