~ The Future Is Not ‘Hours’ ~ ‘III’ of ‘IV’   5 comments

   

 

              Thank You Elke. Much appreciated. … xoxo

~ The Future Is Not ‘Hours’ ~’III’ 

Parts One through Four

 

    A day’s work is a day’s work, neither more nor less, and the man who does it needs a day’s sustenance, a night’s repose and due leisure, whether he be painter or ploughman.

              George Bernard Shaw

           George passed away some fifty six years ago now. I’s figuring he likely wrote this, Oh, … I’m gonna guess at some point in the late nineteen forties. This is just one example of what I’m talking about here today. There were many others years before him, I’m sure dating back near to the days of the caveman, but this is a great example ‘a how years ago, folks like George could see and know all ‘a this … Tell it to the world … And Puleeeezzzz, someone prey tell me … WHO THE PHUCK IS LISTENING ?!?!?!

        Artists are portraying it in they’s images, songwriters are bashing it out on stages in front of thousands. Hollywood and screen writers, actors as well are screaming it out from the highest of the Hollywood Hills for everyone to hear. Yet seemingly, falling on deaf ears.

        Oh hey … Pardon my tongue, but it just makes me angry. If this is something that has been known and told to the world since the beginning of time, how is that we have never the less fashioned our community such as to cause such unrest, hatred, prejudice, violence, greed, and before all ‘a that there is the very dissention which is tearing us apart at the seams. I personally, quite simply don’t get it. This is the very reason which has me questioning myself, if perhaps human kind might just NOT be the most intelligent creature on earth. Fer the most part, I sure don’t see all ‘a that much evidence ta support such a claim.

        Remember I had said somethin bout man not bein capable ‘a the sum of compassion ‘n self respect??? We live in a society where we, as individuals, have been duped into believing that the value of a man is directly proportionate to a man’s material worth. In the end, when it comes to a person’s legacy, it all boils down to how much property the man was in possession of at the time of his death. Or her’s … Whichever. Oh sure … Some like to think that they’s kids are they’s legacy. But tell me that you don’t try to fashion your life such as to be able ta pass something on to your kids. At the very least, perhaps a property ‘n house to be sold ‘n spread amongst them. Stocks ‘n bonds. Mutual funds. The life savings as it were. The Nest Egg!! Your last vested effort to do something to help out your kids. Your legacy perhaps???

        If left to think about it, can you truly tell me of your self worth when it comes to the big picture?? What exactly is your individual legacy towards humanity??? And just to make it a little easier on ya’s, bare in mind that time is eternal.

        There is an old saying that all is fair in love and war. Yet who hasn’t heard on the news at some point of folks from World War Two bein hunted down ‘n tried fer what is bein referred to as acts of atrocities towards humanity during war time. Do a little diggin folks, ‘n check out some ‘a the atrocities towards humanity happenin in so many ‘a what’s referred to as “third world countries”. {whatever in the hell that means} I made mention ‘a what I see to be a pretty atrocious situation goin on in Indonesia earlier, based on a US government report, which I’m sure to some degree is soft peddling the truth so’s not to raise too very many eyebrows. This report didn’t in any way touch on the most destitute folks of Indonesia at all. The unemployed, the unaccounted for!

        In comment to part one of ~The Future Is Not ‘Hours’~, Tracie brought and left behind an example of that very thing concerning the good folks of Bangladesh. A link to a report and an excerpt taken from the book, “Banker To The Poor” written by the 2006 Nobel Prize Winner, {fer whatever that’s worth} Muhammad Yunus. So here I’ll just do the lick ‘n stick thingy ‘n give ya a little excerpt, first from the report concerning the book and Author. …

 

Banker to the Poor is Muhammad Yunus’s memoir of how he decided to change his life in order to help the world’s poor. In it he traces the intellectual and spiritual journey that led him to fundamentally rethink the economic relationship between rich and poor, and the challenges he and his colleagues faced in founding Grameen. He also provides wise, hopeful guidance for anyone who would like to join him in “putting homelessness and destitution in a museum so that one day our children will visit it and ask how we could have allowed such a terrible thing to go on for so long.” The definitive history of micro-credit direct from the man that conceived of it, Banker to the Poor is necessary and inspirational reading for anyone interested in economics, public policy, philanthropy, social history, and business.

        Now here’s the good part. This should about have ya in stitches I’m sure. An excerpt from the book itself of what Muhammad discovered durin his travels in Bangladesh. … Hang on to yer whoopee cushions kiddies …

 

“What is your name?” I asked.

“Sufiya Begum.”

“How old are you?”

“Twenty-one.”

I did not use a pen and notepad, for that would have scared her off. Later, I only allowed my students to take notes on return visits.

“Do you own this bamboo?” I asked.

“Yes.”

“How do you get it?”

“I buy it.”

“How much does the bamboo cost you?”

“Five taka.” At the time, this was about twenty-two cents.

“Do you have five taka?”

“No, I borrow it from the paikars.”

“The middlemen? What is your arrangement with them?”

“I must sell my bamboo stools back to them at the end of the day as repayment for my loan.”

“How much do you sell a stool for?”

“Five taka and fifty poysha.”

“So you make fifty poysha profit?”

She nodded. That came to a profit of just two cents.

Sufiya did not want to waste any more time talking. I watched as she set to work again, her small brown hands plaiting the strands of bamboo as they had every day for months and years on end. This was her livelihood. She squatted barefoot on the hard mud. Her fingers were callused, her nails black with grime.

How would her children break the cycle of poverty she had started? How could they go to school when the income Sufiya earned was barely enough to feed her, let alone shelter her family and clothe them properly? It seemed hopeless to imagine that her babies would one day escape this misery.       

        Now don’t go bustin a nugget there!! Let me just get out me trusty calcumalator ‘n do some math here. Let’s see … 3 times 3 is …… 3     plus three … 3 ..3 times 3 … one .. two .. ummm … divided by … Oh shyte!! Hang on a second … That ain’t right. *chucklin …*    If this woman were ta make two hunnert stools in the course of a day *Oh phuckin puleeeezzzz … *  The poor dear would make a grand total ‘a FOUR PHUCKIN DOLLARS !!!

 

 

 

        Holy Shyte Eh!!    I’m thinkin if’n she could make 200 bamboo stools in the course of a month she’d be near ta bein worked ta the bone. Well that’d be near ta seven bamboo stools a day I spose. By hand … workin all day … every day … I can’t imagine it’d be much more than that eh. … If that !!! Mayhap if’n she was ta bust er hump ‘n put out 400 stools in the coarse of ‘a month, put in a little overtime as it were, she could bring in a whopping big EIGHT DOLLARS A MONTH !!!

 

        Now then … back to the question ‘a self worth … In the grand scheme ‘a things, do you spose that any one of us as an individual, wallowing in the riches of Avarice {one of the seven deadly sins} here on the North American Continent, has a self worth any greater than the self worth of this Beautiful woman in Bangladesh???? Do ya truly spose that any one of us here on the North American continent have an individual legacy towards humanity greater than any individual in the same circumstance as Sufiya sufferin through such indignity over across the pond in Bangladesh??? Is Sufiya not as deserving of an equal amount ‘a daily sustenance, nights repose, ‘n due leisure as lets say, someone doin forty hours a week spinnin wheel nuts onto some Chrysler, GM, er Ford product??

        OK!!! … Gotta come up out ‘a the terlit fer some air here now.

 Phewwwwwwww!!!!! 

~ The Future Is Not ‘Hours’ ~ ‘III’ 

Parts One through Four

  

 

 

Posted February 5, 2007 by Archie ~Grumps~ in ~ The Future is Not 'Hours' ~

5 responses to “~ The Future Is Not ‘Hours’ ~ ‘III’ of ‘IV’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh well Archie ! a good one!!!
    And enimently a good one, cause you stand out from the crowd to say such true things in here. My respect!
     
    As for myself I do often think about this misery. 
    Here we have a big furniture company called Ikea. Ikea comes from Sweden but is now spread all over the world. And when I buy things there and look on the little sticker, where it is from….PRC, Malaysia, India and so on.
    So I pay a little money to enjoy myself with a little tablecloth or anything else and I know, that I support the profit of for example Ikea and also of the life of Sufiya.
    But meanwhile you cannot escape on this. Thats a fact and its called capitalism.
    all big companies let produce their goods in such third world countries..makes some richer and others hang on the abysm of living.
    Being poor, and for Germany\’s measure I do belong to that categorie, life is a struggle. And the most important part not to let your children get into the same, the only way to avoid is education. But here we have to pay for extra education for our kids. Like for exams, which are not given by the school, but in extra institutions which take money for it.
    If you have enough money its easy to finance your child a diploma.
    But as for me and many others with the same income its always a desaster, not knowing where to take the money for it. Dont get me wrong. I do not compare my life with the for sure worser and harder life of that woman in Bangladesh. But being poor means all over the world the same. Standing outside.
     
    love Elke
     
     

  2. Okay you\’re right………I will have to read it a second time lol!  To be honest, after a day like today, thinking to much will only serve to hurt my brain.  You sure know how to make a person stop and think though, I\’ll give you that!  And don\’t we need that now and then eh?
     
    Glad to see you finally posted again, I was missin a good read.  Have a great evening Grumps ~huge hugs~

  3. This is a great blog Archie and these levels of poverty are not limited to Indonesia. Life is like that all the way across Africa and most of Asia to one degree or another.

  4. Hi Archie……..wishing you a super and happy Valentines Day!!

  5. Okay I am late… geez when aren\’t I.. LOL.. seems lately I can\’t get my head out of my Arse long enough to get to work.. LOL
     
    Wowsers that is a mouth full eh.  Ya pretty well know my outlook on things and I am pretty fired up today on other things so i will leave my two cents out for a few days til I calm down some.
     
    Hugs hun
    kari

Leave a Reply

